uttar pradesh travel

  Facts And Figures
Area 93933 sq mi
Capital Lucknow
Population 190,891,000
Languages Hindi, Urdu
Airports Agra, Allahabad, Bakshi Ka Talab, Bareilly, Faizabad, Gorakhpur, Jhansi, Kanpur, Kasya\Kushinagar, Lalitpur, Lucknow, Saharanpur, Varanasi .

tourist attractions

Agra is situated on the banks of the Yamuna River. The city achieved fame as the capital of the Mughal emperors from 1526 to 1658 AD and remains a major tourist destination because of the many splendid Mughal-era buildings, most notably the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri, all three of which are UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Agra is a vibrant centre of Culture, Art and religious philosophies that have enriched mankind and shaped human thought over centuries. Agra's climate is tropical and prone to extremes, reaching as high as 45C (113F) during the summers and as low as 4C (40F) in the winters. The rainy season is between June and September and the city receives an annual rainfall of 660 millimeters (26 inches).
Allahabad is one of the largest cities of the State of Uttar Pradesh in India. The ancient name of the city in was Prayaga ("place of sacrifice" and "Confluence") and is considered to be the place where Brahma offered his sacrifice after creating the world. It is one of the sites for the grand Kumbh Mela. Allahabad is of religious importance to the Hindus as it is situated at the confluence of the holy rivers Ganga and Yamuna, and the Hindu belief says that the invisible Sarasvati River also joins here. The summer season is from April to June with the maximum temperatures ranging between 40C to 45C. Monsoon begins in early July and lasts till September. The winter season lasts for the months of December, January and February in which temperatures drop to zero degrees Celsius with a maximum of 12 to 14 C. Allahabad also witnesses severe fog in January resulting in massive traffic jams. It does not snow in Allahabad. Lowest temperature recorded -2 C; highest, 48 C.
Ayodhya is situated on the right bank of the river Ghagra or Saryu, as it is called within sacred precincts. Ayodhya is the city where lord Rama the seventh incarnation of lord Vishnu took birth. Ayodhya is pre-eminently a city of temples yet, all places of worship here, are not of the Hindu religion only. At Ayodhya several religions have grown and prospered simultaneously and also at different periods of time in the past. Remnants of Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism and Islam can still be found in Ayodhya. According to Jain tradition, five Tirthankaras were born at Ayodhya, including Adinath (Rishabhadeva) the 1st Tirthankar.

Other's Cities


Agra Allahabad Ayodhya
Bithoor Braj Bhoomi Chitrakoot
Deogarh Jaunpur Jhansi
Kalinjar Kanpur Kapilvastu
Kushinagar Lucknow Sarnath
Sravasti Varanasi